Incognito Amplified

Incognito celebrate their 35th anniversary with the release of a 16th studio album on June 30 in the UK.
Amplified Soul will appear on earMUSIC Records and features 16 songs, including a cover of Atlantic Starr’s Silver Shadow. All the Incog regulars are present on the set, including [of course] leader Bluey Maunick, that tight rhythm section of Francis Hylton [bass], Matt Cooper [keys], Francesco Mendolia [drums] and Joao Caetano [percussion]. Vocalists are Tony Momrelle, Vanessa Haynes, Carleen Anderson, Deborah Bond, Imaani, 22-year-old debutant Chiara Hunter and newcomer Katie Leone. Jamiroquai drummer Nick Van Gelder pops up on a couple of tunes, and there’s room for saxman Nigel Hitchcock, synth wizzard Ski Oakenfull, percussionist Roberto Quintero and, of course, Richard Bull.
We’ve heard it and it’s a superb body of work. Feature in the mag upcoming.