Miles Ahead: Two Albums Coming

Columbia/Legacy Celebrates the 90th Birthday of Miles Davis with two special new releases: MILES AHEAD – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack [available Friday, April 1]; and EVERYTHING’S BEAUTIFUL, a selection of recordings of Miles Davis reimagined by Grammy Award winning musician Robert Glasper with guest artists Erykah Badu, KING, John Scofield, Phonte, Bilal, Ledisi, Stevie Wonder, Laura Mvula, Hiatus Kaiyote and others [available Friday, May 27].
The movie MILES AHEAD marks the directorial debut of Don Cheadle, who co-wrote the screenplay (with Steven Baigelman) and stars as the legendary musician in the film.

Both releases are also available for pre-order at the official Miles Davis store on

Says Cheadle in his sleeve note to the soundtrack:
“We culled the library for every style Miles touched…looking for cues to bridge key moments, bring others into focus. The stuff a good score is supposed to do. Miles made it easier. His music is multi-faceted and score friendly.”

See the MILES AHEAD Film Trailer here –

EVERYTHING’S BEAUTIFUL blends a diverse group of master takes and outtakes from across the Miles Davis Columbia catalogue with an impressive lineup of contemporary artists and musicians to create original interpretations.
“I didn’t want to do just a remix record,” says Glasper. “My idea was to show how Miles inspired people to make new art.
“I am living in the spirit of Miles when I am doing what I’m doing because I am documenting my time period. I’m documenting what’s around me. I’m documenting who I am now, where music is now. That’s what this project is about. I wanted to do something where we can take some of Miles’ ideas, shake them up, and try to show the influence of Miles and make new things. And that’s the beauty of this whole album. The whole project is based on Miles, but it is based on Miles’ vision, it’s based on Miles’ trumpet, it’s based on Miles’ voice, it’s based on Miles’ composition, it’s based on Miles’ influence, it’s based on Miles’ swag.”


  1. 1. Miles Ahead
  2. Dialogue: “It takes a long time…” (*)
  3. So What
  4. Taylor Made – Taylor Eigisti
  5. Dialogue: “Listen, you talk too goddam much…” (*)
  6. Solea (excerpt)
  7. Seven Steps To Heaven (edit)
  8. Dialogue: “If you gonna tell a story…”(*)
  9. Nefertiti (edit)
  10. Frelon Brun
  11. Dialogue: “Sometimes you have these thoughts…”(*)
  12. Duran (take 6) (edit)
  13. Dialogue: “You own my music…”(*)
  14. Go Ahead John (part two C)
  15. Black Satin (edit)
  16. Dialogue: “Be musical about this shit…”(*)
  17. Prelude #II
  18. Dialogue: “Y’all listening to them…?(*)
  19. Junior’s Jam – Robert Glasper, Keyon Harrold, Marcus Strickland
  20. Francessence – Robert Glasper, Keyon Harrold, Elena Pinderhughes
  21. Back Seat Betty (excerpt)
  22. Dialogue: “I don’t like the word jazz…” (*)
  23. What’s Wrong With That?  – Don Cheadle, Robert Glasper, Gary Clark, Jr., Herbie Hancock, Keyon Harrold, Antonio Sanchez, Esperanza Spaulding, Wayne Shorter
  24. Gone 2015 – Robert Glasper, Keyon Harrold, Pharoahe Monch

(*) from the soundtrack of the film, Don Cheadle as Miles Davis
All other tracks performed by Miles Davis, except where noted.
Soundtrack album produced by Don Cheadle, Steve Berkowitz, Ed Gerrard & Robert Glasper


  1. “Talking Shit”
  2. “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal
  3. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J
  4. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu
  5. “Violets” featuring Phonte
  6. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote
  7. “Silence Is The Way” featuring Laura Mvula
  8. “Song For Selim” featuring KING
  9. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow
  10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi
  11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonder