Sony Release Eddy Soundtrack

Black Roots slider

Sony Music Masterworks/Arista Records are to release The Eddy: Songs By Glen Ballard And Randy Kerber From The Netflix Original Series on May 8 – an album featuring music taken from Damien Chazelle’s forthcoming eight-episode trilingual [French, Arabic and English] limited TV series. Guests include St. Vincent and Jorja Smith.

The Eddy is a drama set in modern-day Paris and tells the story of The Eddy nightclub co-owner’s struggle to keep the place going amidst much skullduggery by his business partner. Music will feature heavily in the series, with several original songs in each episode.

All songs have been specially written by Glen Ballard and Randy Kerber, and will be performed by The Eddy Cast Band, which includes drummer Lada Obradovic, bass player Damien Nueva Cortes, sax player Jowee Omicil, Ludovic Louis on trumpet, Randy Kerber on piano and singer Joanna Kulig [who also stars in the show]. The soundtrack album will also include covers by St. Vincent and Jorja Smith. The single Kiss Me in the Morning, performed by Jorja Smith, is available now.
In total, the album features 20 original contemporary jazz songs – the first 16 being live recordings taken from the eight episodes of the series. In the ‘encore’ portion there are four studio recordings featuring vocals from Smith, St. Vincent and Julia Harriman.